Snow on the Mountain

One of the hillsides in our yard is covered with Snow on the Mountain. It is a beautiful ground cover under our trees. It always looks cool and refreshing with its variegated leaves. I love the mix of the cream and green together on the leaves. I love Snow on the Mountain even more when it is blooming. I managed to catch a shot of a fly that loves the Snow on the Mountain as much as I do.

10 Responses to “Snow on the Mountain”

  1. Lovely photograph – and what a wonderful name: Snow on the Mountain!

  2. Thanks, I love the name too. The people who owned the property before us planted the Snow on the Mountain. I am thankful they did.

  3. Beautiful name and pic!
    Looks similar to Queen Anne’s Lace. I wonder if they are related.

  4. Very beautiful. Cream and green. Calming. Thank you for sharing your photo. Blessings to you, Jeanne…

  5. Here in Texas we have a plant also called snow-on-the-mountain (Euphorbia marginata), but it looks nothing like the one you’ve photographed. I guess the phrase is too good to pass up when people need to name various white flowers. We have a closely related species called snow-on-the-prairie (Euphorbia bicolor), too.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • Thanks for stopping by my blog Steve. The Snow on the Mountain we have here in Minnesota is Aegopodium ‘Variegatum’ . It is mostly cream and green variegated leaves and then it has the flowers that I displayed in the photo. I will have to stop by your blog to check out your Texas wildflowers.

  6. Lovely photograph. And one of those great wildflower names.

    • I tried to find more flowers to photograph after I took this one but there haven’t been any more. I don’t know if this was the end of the flowering or just the only one that did. I thankful to capture the one I did.

Leave a comment