Tunicate? at St. Pete’s Beach

 

This morning as my husband and I were walking along St. Pete’s Beach we came across this large orange solid looking blob.  I looked like a large orange colored strawberry to me or somebody’s heart.  It was about 3″ by 4″ in size and it encased a plant in the middle so it looked like the plant’s root ball.

We investigated a bit when we got back to our room and we think what we saw was a tunicate. If someone knows it to be something else let me know and I will post the proper name.

5 Responses to “Tunicate? at St. Pete’s Beach”

  1. Interesting. I’ve never seen anything like it.

  2. We actually saw two of them within about 100′ of each other. Another couple was looking at the first one and then we walked a little farther and found one to look at which was larger than the first.

  3. It’s beautiful and very unusual. You are really good at finding great shots with your camera! Blessings to you, Jeanne…

  4. We stopped in at a shell shop after lunch today and verified the fact that what I have a picture of is indeed a tunicate. It is so much fun to see and learn new things.

  5. Thanks, Jeanne. Checking in a shell shop was smart thinking!

Leave a comment